National Parks of the Dominican Republic

The national parks of the Dominican Republic are spaces designated by the Dominican government with the objective of preserving its unique environmental and cultural characteristics. These areas are supported by a legal and institutional framework that ensures the conservation of approximately 25.32% of the country’s territory, equivalent to around 12,202.2 km² of protected land surface, adding 46,430.5 km² of marine surface, which is about 10.8% of the Dominican marine waters according to Law 66-00.

As of October 2022, the National System of Protected Areas (SINAP) has 130 conservation units classified into six categories and thirteen subcategories of management, following the definitions of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), and this is governed by the sectoral law of Protected Areas 202-04 and other current legal provisions.

Most important National Parks

Among the most prominent and mighty national parks in terms of protected surface as well as the number of species inhabiting the region, the Los Haitises National Park with an area of about 631 km2 in Samaná Bay, stands out for its lush fauna and flora, being one of the most visited Dominican parks annually, followed by the Jaragua National Park in the Pedernales province, the largest in the country.

Among the most visited is the José Armando Bermúdez National Park, located next to the José del Carmen Ramírez National Park, also of significant importance is the East National Park preserving the remnants of the ancient Taíno civilization, located in the southeastern part of the Dominican Republic.

There are different areas protected by the government of the republic, with green spaces and different species inhabiting their interior, with governmental protection to preserve mammals, reptiles, birds, insects, and plant species that are part of the country’s heritage, the Valle Nuevo National Park is located in the center of the country in the Central Mountain Range, with the Alto de la Bandera volcano within it and various rivers that run through the Dominican park.

Regarding areas that protect marine biodiversity, the La Caleta Submarine National Park stands out for its caves and the Hickory shipwreck, hosting a multitude of fish species and several types of corals, as well as the archaeological site of pre-Columbian indigenous people.

The Network of National Parks of the Dominican Republic has 14 national parks and various protected areas that make the visit to the region interesting in terms of culture and focused on sustainable tourism.

List of National Parks of the Dominican Republic

See also