National Parks of the Central African Republic

The National Parks of the Central African Republic encompass a variety of landscapes, from rainforests to savannas in the extreme north of the country. In total, there are five designated national parks, harboring numerous endangered species and also serving as important bird reserves. Altogether, an area of approximately 112,847 km² is protected, representing 18.06% of the national territory. These parks play a fundamental role in conserving biodiversity and preserving the valuable natural resources of the Central African Republic.

In addition to the national parks, the Central African Republic boasts a diversity of protected areas. These include a forest reserve in Bangassou, covering an area of 12,002 km² in the southeast of the country, a strict nature reserve in Vassako-Bolo spanning 843 km², and a nature reserve in Chinko. Seven wildlife reserves are also found, with a special reserve in Dzanga-Sangha covering 6,865 km² in the southwest, a sanctuary in Bongo extending over 2,650 km², and a private reserve in Avakaba Presidential Park spanning 2,636 km².

Moreover, the country is home to two Ramsar sites, the Shanga River covering 2,750 km² and the Mbaéré-Bodingué Rivers spanning 1,013 km². Additionally, two Biosphere Reserves exist: the Basse-Lobaye forest covering 182 km² and the Bamingui-Bangoran reserve along with the surrounding areas, totaling 16,220 km². The country also boasts two UNESCO World Heritage sites: the Sangha Trinational Forest with an area of 7,463 km² and the Manovo-Gounda St. Floris National Park. Furthermore, there are 15 classified forests in the Central African Republic, showcasing the country’s commitment to the protection and conservation of its valuable natural heritage.